How Do You Know Which Type Of Narcissist You’re Dealing With?

Narcissistic Personality Disorder is the diagnosis. People with the disorder are distinguished by which type of Narcissism they have, based on their actions. There are three categories: Exhibitionist, Closet, and Toxic.

Those classified as an exhibitionist are the stereotypical grandiose narcissist. They’re bullies who yell at waiters and subordinates, and always have to be the center of attention.

Their Narcissistic behaviors are overt, or not hidden.

The closet, or covert narcissist, has a completely different persona. They may seem withdrawn or inhibited. Unlike the overt, grandiose behaviors of the exhibitionist, the closet narcissist hides his narcissistic behaviors.

Their behaviors are introverted, or hidden.

The toxic, or malignant narcissist, is sadistic and horribly cruel. Like all narcissists, they enjoy creating drama and chaos in the lives of their victims.

Toxic Narcissists are most likely to seriously injure or murder their victims. They are prone to violence, and use intimidation techniques to cause fear in their victims.

Regardless of category, all narcissists have to meet 5 of these 9 criteria to be diagnosed with narcissistic personality disorder:

  • a sense of self-importance or grandiose behavior
  • fantasies about being influential or famous
  • exaggerating their abilities and accomplishments
  • craving admiration and praise
  • preoccupied with beauty, love, power, or success
  • entitlement
  • believes themself to be unique or special
  • exploiting others
  • lacking empathy

Similar Posts